Grants and Awards

  • Bart Jansen and Astrid Pieterse win Excellent Student Paper Award at IPEC 2017

    Bart Jansen (Assistant Professor) and Astrid Pieterse (PhD student) won the "Excellent Student Paper Award" at the 12th International Symposium on Parameterized and Exact Computation (IPEC 2017) in Vienna, Austria, with their paper "Optimal Data Reduction for Graph Coloring Using Low-Degree Polynomials".


  • Madelon de Kemp wins ASML Graduation Prize


    Madelon de Kemp (UvA-NETWORKS) won the ASML Graduation Prize for Mathematics. This prize consists of an amount of €5000.- and will be awarded to her on 28 November 2016 by the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW).

    Madelon received her BSc and MSc in Mathematics at the VU University Amsterdam. Her research, titled  Robust Appointment Scheduling and Sequencing for Many Patients was about planning appointments at, for example, the doctor’s.


  • NWO TOP Grant for Viresh Patel

    On 2 November 2016, Dr. Viresh Patel was awarded a TOP Grant by the 'Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek' (NWO). This Grants was awarded in the TOP Grants Science round 2016, compartment

    Patel received the grant for his project 'Hamilton cycles in sparse graphs'


  • Bart Jansen and Astrid Pieterse win Best Paper award at MFCS 2016

    Bart Jansen (Assistant Professor) and Astrid Pieterse (PhD student) from the Eindhoven University of Technology (Algorithms group) won the Best Paper award at the Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science (MFCS) 2016 in Krakow, Poland, with their paper ‘Optimal sparsification for some binary CSPs using low-degree polynomials’. They won 300 euro, sponsored by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS).


  • Second place at PACE for Hans Bodlaender and Tom van der Zanden

    On 24 August 2016 Hans Bodlaender and Tom van der Zanden (University of Utrecht) were awarded a 2nd place in the PACE challenge. The award was given to them in Aarhus, Denmark during the 11th International Symposium on Parameterized and Exact Computation (IPEC 2016), which is part of the larger ALGO 2016 week of co-located conferences and workshops.


  • 1 Billion euros for Harry Buhrman for Quantum Flagship

    The European Commission has proposed to invest one billion euros in a Quantum Flagship, a large-scale European research programme for quantum technology. Within the Quantum Flagship, researchers from various fields will further knowledge on quantum mechanics and bring new applications to the market.

  • NWO VENI granted to Jop Briët

    In 2014 a VENI grant was awarded to Jop Briët for his research project on Quantum and classical data transmission which started in April 2015.

  • Teaching Award for Bart Jansen

    On 21 January 2016, Bart Jansen received the Teaching Award 2015 in Computer Science for his excellent contribution to education.


  • Structural funding for QuSoft

    On 3 December 2015 QuSoft, the first research center dedicated to quantum software, was launched. It is a joint initiative of UvA, CWI, and VU, and will be located at Amsterdam Science Park. QuSoft complements the research conducted by QuTech, which focuses on the development of quantum hardware, and thus strengthens the position of Amsterdam and the Netherlands in world-class quantum information research.


  • Lex Schrijver receives EURO Gold Medal 2015

    Researcher Lex Schrijver (UvA - Korteweg-de Vries Institute and CWI) has been awarded the EURO Gold Medal 2015.

  • NWO TOP Grant for Van der Hofstad and Van Leeuwaarden

    In  TOP I competition of the Division of Exact Sciences of NWO (the Dutch Science Foundation) of 2014, a grant was awarded to Remco van der Hofstad (main applicant) and Johan van Leeuwaarden for their project "Information diffusion on random graphs".

  • Australian ARC Discovery Grant for Michel Mandjes

    Michel Mandjes was, jointly with Jerzy Filar, Thomas Taimre and Yoni Nazarathy (the University of Queensland) and Vivek Borkar (IIT Mumbai), awarded an Australian ARC Discovery grant.